The United Nations has emerged on 24 October 1945 in San Francisco (USA) where were present some fifty States that ratified the United Nations Charter. The Republic of Djibouti has joined the concert of Nations on 20 September 1977 through the ratification of the Charter.


The guiding principles of the Charter are:
  • To maintain international peace and security;
  • To develop friendly relations among nations;
  • To achieve international co-operation in solving international problems of an economic, social, cultural or humanitarian character, and in promoting and encouraging respect for human rights.

The Charter is based on fundamental principles such as:

  • All of its members are equal;
  • All members must fulfil their Charter obligations;
  • International disputes are to be settled by peaceful means;
  • Members may not use force or the threat of force against other members;
  • Members must help the United Nations in any action it might take in accordance with the Charter;
  • The United Nations may not interfere in the domestic affairs of any State.

Today The United Nations have 193 member States and has six main bodies:

The United Nations system however includes 15 Specialized Agencies, Funds and other Organizations whose the Republic of Djibouti is member in the majority.